Thursday, July 22, 2010

Knowing the facts on child car safety

Every child must ride in a federally approved “child passenger safety seat system” until they are 8 years old or taller than 4 feet 9 inches. This includes traditional car seats with harnesses AND booster seats-both the backless and the high back versions.

This Texas law will save lives of our most precious cargo-our children. The best practice for parents to understand is that children who are not 4 feet and 9 inches tall, even if they are older than 8 years old, are safest in a booster seat. So, get out your measuring tape, determine the height of your child, and get a booster seat to protect them if it is needed!

The law also requires all safety seats and booster seats to be installed according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system which include age, height and weight requirements and the placement in the vehicle. So, it is important to read the manual that comes with your car seat or booster seat and follow the instructions carefully!

If your child is over 4 feet 9 inches he or she should be able to:
· sit all the way back against the vehicle seat
· have his/her knees bend comfortably at the edge of the auto seat
· have the shoulder belt should cross the shoulder and the middle of the chest and NOT the child’s neck and should lay across the child’s hips and not their belly
· have their head supported by the vehicle headrest
· be seated properly for the entire car trip-which is often difficult for young children

Texas Health teaches parents how to install car seats and booster seats. Call 1-877-THR-WELL for your free appointment. I am happy to answer any questions and you can reach me in my office at Texas Health Harris Methodist HEB at 817-848-4135.

Julie Smith, RN, MS
Perinatal Educator
Child Passenger Safety Technician
Texas Health HEB

No comments:

Post a Comment